雄性激素替代

muscle-1

雄性激素替代疗法

新加坡男性的平均年龄预计将在未来25年内显着上升, 65岁以上的男性人数增幅是最大的。

当这种情况发生时,与年龄相关的健康问题也会急剧增加,其中包括癌症,中风,心脏病和激素缺乏症。 尽管女性由于年龄增长而造成的荷尔蒙下降的相关健康风险(更年期),已得到彻底解决,但是目前已经证明,老年男性荷尔蒙的变化与严重的健康问题是有关联的。

由于年龄的增长,男性的睾丸激素水平会自然降低。 正如女性在绝经期间失去雌激素的天然水平一样,随着年龄的增长,男性也会失去自然高水平的睾酮激素。

睾酮是必需的:

• 男性性发育
• 生殖功能
• 建立肌肉体积
• 维持健康的红血球水平
• 保持骨密度

随着年龄的增长,男性的睾丸激素产量会逐渐下降。 这些变化可能是戏剧性的,在60岁以上的的男性中,有一半的睾酮水平是偏低的。 虽然下降的速度差别很大,但一般的经验法则是,睾酮水平在50岁以后每年约下降1%。男性的血清睾酮水平从第三个十年会逐渐下降到生命的终点,主要是由于 睾丸中产生激素的细胞(Leydig细胞)。 这种下降也可能是由于激素(促性腺激素释放激素GnRH,黄体生成素LH)和蛋白质(性激素结合球蛋白SHBG,白蛋白)调节睾酮所产生的变化。
Nebido

低睾酮的症状有那些?

无论您的年龄,低睾酮症状可以包括:
• 勃起功能有障碍,或维持勃起出现问题
• 其他勃起的改变,如自发性勃起次数减少
• 性欲降低或性活动减少
• 不孕/不育
• 快速脱发
• 肌肉量减少
• 增加身体脂肪
• 乳房增大
• 睡眠紊乱
• 持续的疲劳
• 头脑混乱,健忘,缺乏焦点和精神出现无法清晰的症状
• 情绪低落

这些症状有许多也可能是由其他医疗条件或生活方式所造成的。 如果您正在经历上述症状,请与我们的医生预约。 我们可以帮助您找出潜在的原因,并推荐一个治疗计划。

导致年轻男性的睾酮低的原因有那些?

30岁以下男性的睾酮变低不太常见,但仍然可能发生。 影响因素包括:
• 高胆固醇水平
• 高血压
• 超重或肥胖
• 喝过量的酒精
• 使用非法药物
• 使用合成代谢类固醇
• 服用某些处方药,如类固醇和阿片类药物,由其是过量地服用

一些睾酮低的病例可能与其他疾病有关,例如:
• 下丘脑或垂体疾病或肿瘤
• 受伤,肿瘤或其他影响睾丸的疾病,包括与儿童腮腺炎有关的炎症
• 糖尿病,肝脏疾病或艾滋病
• 癌症治疗如放疗和化疗
 Testosterone-Enanthate

睾酮替代疗法的优点

• 更强的骨头
在睾酮水平低的男性中,睾酮可以改善骨密度并减少骨折,这与绝经后妇女在雌激素替代时发现的效果相似。 重要的是,年长男性发生髋部骨折的可能性是同龄女性的2-3倍,40%的老年男性髋部骨折患者会在1年内死亡。

• 减少身体的脂肪; 增加更多的肌肉质量
睾酮会导致身体的瘦肉增加,可能增强力量,并可以减少身体的脂肪量。 通过刺激促红细胞生成素,睾酮增加血液计数。 睾酮是负责增加肌肉的质量。 增加瘦肉有助于控制体重并增加能量。 对于低睾酮的男性,研究显示,治疗可以减少脂肪量,增加肌肉的大小和强度。 有些男士报告瘦体重的变化,但没有增加力量。 当您将睾丸激素治疗与力量训练和运动相结合时,您可能会看到更多的好处。

• 更好的性生活
性功能也会随着睾酮的改善而改善。大多数研究认为性驱力通过睾酮得以改善。睾酮可能会改善阴茎勃起,但仅限于睾酮水平低的男性。重要的是,个别的低睾酮是老年男子不寻常的(6%)勃起问题的原因,因为较低的性欲和年龄相关的阴茎变化更为常见。

• 健康的心脏和血液
一个健康的心脏将血液泵送到身体其他部位,为肌肉和器官提供所需的氧气以达到最佳状态。 睾酮通过骨髓帮助红细胞生成。 低睾酮水平与各种心血管风险有关。
睾酮可以帮助预防心脏疾病。 21世纪初的小规模研究发现接受睾酮治疗的心脏病患者只有轻微的改善。 有些人能够增加33%的步行距离。 另一项研究发现,激素治疗只扩大了健康的动脉,但对心绞痛没有影响。
最近对83,000名男性进行更大规模的研究发现,睾酮水平恢复正常的男性,他们心脏病发作的可能性减少24%,中风发生的可能性减少36%。

• 更好的语言记忆,空间能力或数学推理
研究发现,总睾酮比例较高的男性,发生阿尔茨海默的病率较低。 也有证据证明,睾酮和思维能力之间有很强的相关性,如口头记忆和更快的处理速度。 男性34至70岁的睾酮治疗显示出空间记忆的改善。

• 改善心情
较低的睾酮水平与较差的生活质量相关。 一些低睾酮水平的症状包括抑郁,疲劳和易怒。 但一些研究显示,这可能只适用于性功能低下的男性。 随着时间的推移,睾酮正常减少的男性的抑郁症没有增加。

实验室测试

因为睾丸激素在血液中以多种形式被发现,哪些测试最适合诊断睾酮缺乏症依旧存在争议。 一般来说,总睾酮测试是首选的。

 lab-test-Chinese

国家指南建议睾酮水平低于300 ng / dL,是可疑为低睾酮,但显然这在不同男性是会有所不同的。 先前睾酮水平远高于目前水平,但是即使当前水平高于 300ng / dL,也可能仍然需要治疗。

男性激素治疗的类型

有几个选项可用。 这些包括:
• 肌肉注射睾酮:您的医生将在每两到三周内将这类药物注射到臀部肌肉中。
• 睾酮补丁:您每天把这些补丁贴在您的背部,手臂,臀部或腹部。 确保不要连续贴在相同位置。
• 局部睾酮凝胶:您每天把凝胶涂抹在您的肩膀,手臂或腹部。

 Androgel

睾酮替代疗法期间的监测

睾酮替代通常被认为是一种长期的治疗,患者需要定期监测。在开始治疗之前,直肠指诊和血清前列腺特异性抗原检查是重要的。 基本筛查和激素血液检查也必须完成。

治疗开始后一到两个月内,应评估症状和睾酮水平。 在治疗的第一年,应定期跟进患者以评估临床反应。

第一年之后,可以每年跟进稳定的患者。 年度评估应包括睾酮,血红蛋白,肝功能测试,血脂分布和前列腺特异性抗原检查。 骨密度和心理评估可以根据原来的治疗原因来完成。

Testosterone-test-Chinese-1.png

睾酮治疗的风险

副作用是睾酮激素治疗的主要缺点。 虽然有些副作用相对较小,但其他副作用更严重。

睾酮激素治疗的潜在副作用包括:
• 液体潴留
• 粉刺
• 增加排尿

更严重的潜在副作用包括:
• 乳房增大
• 睾丸尺寸减小
• 恶化现有的睡眠呼吸暂停症
• 增加胆固醇水平
• 精子数量减少
• 不孕不育
• 红血球数量增加

红血球细胞数量的增加可能会导致:
• 肌肉疼痛
• 高血压
• 模糊的视力
• 胸痛
• 血管中的血块
 muscle-2

Male Hormone Replacement

muscle-1

Male Hormone Replacement Therapy

The average age of men in Singapore is projected to rise significantly over the next 25 years, with the greatest increase occurring in men > 65 years old.

As this happens, there will be a dramatic increase in age-related health problems too, including cancer, strokes, heart disease and hormone deficiency. Although the health risks associated with age-related hormonal decline in women, termed menopause, have been thoroughly addressed, it has now been shown that hormonal changes in the aging male are associated with significant health problems.

It is natural for men’s testosterone levels to decrease as they get older. Just as women lose their natural levels of Estrogen hormones as they go through menopause, so do men lose their naturally high levels of Testosterone hormone as they age.

Testosterone is required for:

• male sexual development
• reproductive function
• building muscle bulk
• maintaining healthy levels of red blood cells
• maintaining bone density

There is a progressive decline in testosterone production in men with age. These changes can be dramatic, such that 50% of men >60 years old have low levels of testosterone. Although the rate of decline varies widely, a general rule of thumb is that testosterone levels decrease about 1% yearly after age 50. Serum testosterone levels in men fall progressively from the third decade to the end of life, mainly due to a decline in the cells in the testis that make the hormone (Leydig cells). This decline may also be due to changes in hormones (GnRH, LH) and proteins (SHBG, albumin) that regulate testosterone production.

Nebido

What are the symptoms of low T?

Regardless of your age, low T symptoms can include:
• erectile dysfunction, or problems developing or maintaining an erection
• other changes in your erections, such as fewer spontaneous erections
• decreased libido or sexual activity
• infertility
• rapid hair loss
• reduced muscle mass
• increased body fat
• enlarged breasts
• sleep disturbances
• persistent fatigue
• brain fog
• depression

Many of these symptoms can also be caused by other medical conditions or lifestyle factors. If you’re experiencing them, make an appointment with our doctors. They can help you identify the underlying cause and recommend a treatment plan.

What causes low T in young men?

Low T is less common among men under 30, but it can still occur. Contributing factors include:
• high cholesterol levels
• high blood pressure
• being overweight or obese
• drinking excessive amounts of alcohol
• using illegal drugs
• using anabolic steroids
• taking certain prescription medications such as steroids and opiates, especially in excess

Some cases of low T may be linked to other medical conditions, such as:
• hypothalamic or pituitary disease or tumors
• injuries, tumors, or other conditions affecting your testicles including inflammation related to childhood mumps
• diabetes, liver disease, or AIDS
• cancer treatments such as radiation and chemotherapy
 Testosterone-Enanthate

Advantages of Testosterone Replacement Therapy

• Better Bones
In men with low testosterone levels, testosterone can improve bone mineral density and reduce bone fractures, an effect similar to that found in postmenopausal women on estrogen replacement. Importantly, hip fractures are 2-3 times as likely to kill an older man as a woman of the same age, and 40% of older male patients with hip fractures die within 1 year of the injury.

• Less Fat; more Muscle mass
Testosterone results in increases in lean body mass, possibly strength and can decrease fat mass. By stimulating erythropoietin, testosterone increases blood counts. Testosterone is responsible for increased muscle mass. Leaner body mass helps control weight and increases energy. For men with low testosterone, studies show that treatment can decrease fat mass and increase muscle size and strength. Some men report a change in lean body mass but no increase in strength. It’s likely you will see the most benefits when you combine testosterone therapy with strength training and exercise.

• Better Sexual Health
Sexual function also improves with testosterone. Most studies agree that sexual drive is improved by testosterone. Penile erections may be improved with testosterone, but only in men with low testosterone levels. Important, isolated low testosterone is an unusual (6%) cause of erectile problems in older men as lower sex drive and age-related changes to the penis are far more common.

• Healthy heart and blood
A healthy heart pumps blood to the rest of the body, providing muscles and organs with the oxygen needed for peak performance. Testosterone helps red blood cell production through the bone marrow. Low testosterone levels are linked to a variety of cardiovascular risks.
Testosterone can help with preventing heart disease. Small studies in the early 2000s found that men with heart disease who underwent testosterone therapy saw only slight improvements. Some were able to increase their walking distance by 33 percent. Another study found that hormone therapy only widened healthy arteries but had no effect on angina pain.

A more recent, larger study of 83,000 men found that men whose testosterone levels returned to normal were 24 percent less likely to have a heart attack and 36 percent less likely to experience a stroke.

• Better verbal memory, spatial abilities, or mathematical reasoning
Research shows that men with higher ratios of total testosterone have a reduced incidence of Alzheimer’s disease. There is also evidence for a strong correlation between testosterone and thinking abilities such as verbal memory and faster processing speed. Testosterone treatment for men 34 to 70 years old has shown an improvement in spatial memory.

• Improved mood
Lower testosterone levels are associated with poorer quality of life. Some of the symptoms of low testosterone levels include depression, fatigue, and irritability. But some research shows that this may only be for men with hypogonadism. Men whose bodies follow the normal decrease of testosterone over time didn’t show an increase for depression.

Laboratory Tests

Because testosterone is found in several forms in the blood, there is debate as to what test is best to diagnose testosterone deficiency. In general, a total testosterone is ordered first.

lab-tests

National guidelines suggest that a testosterone level below 300 ng/dL is suspicious for being low, but obviously this will vary among men. Evidence of a prior testosterone level that is much higher than a current level might warrant treatment even if the current level is > 300ng/dL.

Types of hormone therapy for men

Several options are available. These include:
• Intramuscular testosterone injections: Your doctor will inject these into the muscles of your buttocks every two to three weeks.
• Testosterone patches: You apply these each day to your back, arms, buttocks, or abdomen. Be sure to rotate the application sites.
• Topical testosterone gel: You apply this each day to your shoulders, arms, or abdomen.

 Androgel

Monitoring during Testosterone replacement therapy

Testosterone replacement is generally considered a long term therapy and patients need to be monitored regularly.Prior to starting treatment, a digital rectal examination and serum PSA are important. A baseline general screen and hormone profile blood test must be ordered.

Within a month or two after treatment is started, symptoms and testosterone levels should be assessed. During the first year of therapy, patients should be followed regularly to assess clinical response.

After the first year, patients who are stable may be followed annually. Annual evaluations should include testosterone, hemoglobin, liver function tests, lipid profile and PSA tests. Bone density and psychological evaluations can be done depending on the original reasons for treatment.

 table-Male-Hormone-Replacement

Risks of testosterone therapy

Side effects are a primary drawback of hormone therapy with testosterone. While some of the side effects are relatively minor, others are more serious.

Minor potential side effects of hormone therapy with testosterone include:
• fluid retention
• acne
• increased urination

More severe potential side effects include:
• breast enlargement
• decreased testicle size
• worsening of existing sleep apnea
• increased cholesterol levels
• decreased sperm count
• infertility
• increased number of red blood cells

An increased number of red blood cells can cause:
• muscle pain
• high blood pressure
• blurry vision
• chest pain
• blood clots in your blood vessels
 muscle-2