膝关节损伤

jogging foot
膝盖是最容易受伤的关节之一。其结构和许多组成部分都面临着许多类型的伤害。经常这可能导致慢性膝盖疼痛和功能丧失,最终演变成早期的膝关节炎。

一般在运动伤害中,由于膝盖受到撞击,摔倒,扭曲或超出其预期的运动范围,膝盖受伤会突然发生。急性的膝盖受伤在运动员中是很常见的,他可能会导致膝盖三大韧带撕裂- 前十字韧带(ACL),内侧副韧带(MCL),后交叉韧带(PCL) – 或半月板(膝盖内软骨形状楔形)撕裂。

以下是一些比较常见的膝盖损伤:

半月板损伤
半月板是膝关节内的C型软骨,他有助于承担负荷。当膝盖弯曲,然后扭曲时,半月板可能会被撕裂,如转身打网球的动作。在因接触性运动而受伤时,韧带通常可能与半月板一起被撕裂。半月板损伤会在几年后增加发生骨关节炎的风险。

前交叉韧带和后交叉韧带损伤
这些独特的韧带位于膝关节内。它们的作用是稳定胫骨,防止胫骨前后运动时出现异常。突然的扭动或转换方向,可能导致前交叉韧带的损伤,而后交叉韧带更可能由于直接的冲击而受伤,例如在足球运动时被拦截。前十字韧带是最常受伤的韧带,特别是在进行足球或滑雪等运动时。

肌腱受伤
膝盖是被围绕膝盖关节的一系列肌肉和肌腱包围着。他们的工作是为膝盖提供稳定和力量。肌腱损伤范围可以从炎症(腱炎)到破裂,这是由于肌腱的过度使用或过度伸展所引起的。肌腱受伤常常可以通过正确的后续康复和借助补充剂来治愈。

滑囊炎
一些膝盖受伤后会导致毛囊炎,小部分液体通常会充满囊来帮助缓冲膝盖,减少关节和周围韧带和腱之间的摩擦。粘液囊损伤可导致肿胀,灼热,疼痛和僵硬。治疗包括皮质类固醇注射治疗以及康复治疗和避免煽动因素。

Osgood-Schlatter病
通常影响青春前期和十几岁的男孩,这种情况是由于在胫骨的上部区域(骨骼在哪里生长)的重复性压力所引起的。在有这种情况的儿童中,髌腱(连接膝盖和胫骨)会发炎,甚至可能从胫骨撕裂。

膝盖脱臼
这种情况发生在因为损伤而导致髌骨或膝盖骨移动离开原本的位置。膝盖骨的移位总是明显可见的,并且经常是非常痛苦的。在十几岁的女孩和创伤性运动(如曲棍球,足球或滑雪)损伤中经常会出现这种情况。

髂胫带综合征
这种综合征发生在当一组的组织物摩擦股骨外侧(大腿骨)时,会引起膝盖外侧急剧的灼痛。虽然这可能会对膝盖造成直接伤害,但是通常原因是因为长期过度使用所造成的,例如长时间作长距离跑步。

虽然膝关节损伤的原因是多样化和各有不同的,但是不正确诊断或治疗膝关节损伤的最终结果,往往会造成早期的膝盖关节炎和软骨退化。当膝关节的软骨磨损时会发生膝关节炎。这可以通过对软骨的异常机械应力(例如在半月板撕裂或十字韧带撕裂的情况下)或在诸如痛风或类风湿性关节炎的炎性关节炎的慢性炎症的情况下发生。

关于运动损伤,运动员早期关节炎的最常见原因是半月板撕裂或韧带损伤,如前十字韧带(ACL)或后交叉韧带(PCL)损伤。这些损伤将导致膝关节丧失正常的稳定性,引发膝关节软骨基部的慢性异常剪切力水平变低。一般上一部分微小的松散体也会引起炎症,并导致膝关节软骨逐渐磨损。

INLIVEN MEDICAL ,我们的目标是尽早治疗所有急性膝盖损伤,并使用我们所拥有的治疗方法。这些将包括药物注射,膝盖支架以及康复运动,以保持膝盖的强度和弹性。只有在明确与仔细诊断后,发现唯有动手术是对病患有利的情况下,我们才会将患者推荐给我们的附属外科医生进行手术修复。 这为患者提供了运动损伤的理想综合治疗方案,帮助病患早日康复和避免提早面对膝盖关节炎。

Knee Injuries

jogging foot

The knee is one of the joints most prone to injury. Its structure and many components put it at risk of many types of injuries. Often this can result in chronic knee pains and loss of function, with the end result of early knee arthritis.

Commonly in sports injuries, a knee injury happens suddenly as a result of the knee being hit, fallen on, twisted or moved beyond its intended range of motion. Sudden knee injuries are common among athletes and may result in tears to one of three major ligaments of the knee – the anterior cruciate ligament (ACL), medial collateral ligament (MCL) or posterior cruciate ligament (PCL) – or the menisci, crescent-shaped wedges of cartilage within the knee.

The following are some of the more common knee injuries:

Meniscal Injuries
The Meniscii are C-shaped specialized cartilage within the knee joint which help in load distribution. Menisci can be torn when the knee is bent and then twisted, such as turning to hit a tennis ball. During contact sports injuries, often the ligaments can be torn together with the meniscii. Meniscal injuries increase the risk of developing osteoarthritis years later.

Anterior Cruciate Ligament and Posterior Cruciate Ligament Injuries
These specialized ligaments are located within the knee joint. They function to stabilize the tibia bone and prevent abnormal anterior and posterior movement of the tibia. A sudden twisting motion or change in direction can lead to injury of the anterior cruciate ligament, whereas the posterior cruciate ligament is more likely to be damaged from direct impact, such as being tackled in football. The anterior cruciate ligament is the ligament most commonly injured, especially in sports such as soccer or skiing.

Tendon Injuries
The knee is surrounded by a range of muscles and tendons which insert around the knee joint. Their job is to provide stability and strength to the knee. Tendon injuries can range from inflammation (tendinitis) to ruptures, they result from overuse or over-stretching of the tendon. Tendon injuries often can heal with the right rehabilitation follow-up and supplementation.

Bursitis
Some injuries to the knee can lead to inflammation of the bursae, small fluid-filled sacs that normally cushion the knee and reduce friction between the joint and surrounding ligaments and tendons. Injury to bursa can lead to swelling, warmth, pain and stiffness. Treatment includes Corticosteroid injection therapies as well as rehabilitation techniques and avoidance of inciting factors.

Osgood-Schlatter disease
Usually affecting preteen and young teenage boys, this condition is caused by repetitive stress on the upper area of the tibia, where the bone is growing. In children with this condition, the patellar tendon (which connects the knee cap and tibia) becomes inflamed and may even tear away from the tibia.

Dislocated kneecap
This occurs when an injury causes the patella, or kneecap, to move out of position. The movement of the kneecap is always visible and, often, intensely painful. This is seen often in teenage girls and during traumatic sports injuries such as hockey, soccer or skiing.

Iliotibial band syndrome
This syndrome occurs when a band of tissue rubs against the outer portion of your femur (thigh bone), causing sharp, burning pain on the outer side of the knee. Although this can result from a direct injury to the knee, often the cause is the stress of long-term use, such as long-distance running.

While the causes for knee injuries are varied and different, often the end result of improperly diagnosed or treated knee injuries is early knee arthritis and cartilage degeneration. Knee arthritis occurs when the cartilage of the knee joint is worn away. This can occur either via abnormal mechanical stress to the cartilage (such as in cases of meniscal tears or cruciate ligament tears) or in cases of chronic inflammation from inflammatory arthritis such as gout or rheumatoid arthritis.

With regards to sports injuries, the most common cause for early arthritis in sportsmen would be Meniscal tears or ligament injuries such as ACL or PCL injuries. These injuries cause a loss of the normal stability of the knee joint and result in a low level of chronic abnormal shearing forces of the cartilage base of the knee joint. Often there is also a component of inflammation due to minute loose bodies which trigger the inflammation cascade and result in the progressive wearing away of the cartilage in the knee joint.

At INLIVEN MEDICAL, our aim is to treat the acute stage for all knee injuries early and with all the tools at our disposal. These will range from injections, knee braces, as well as rehabilitation techniques to maintain knee strength and flexibility. Only in cases where surgery would be of a definite advantage would we refer the patient to our affiliated surgeons to have a surgical repair. This provides patients with an ideal comprehensive treatment for their sports injuries so as to allow excellent recuperation and avoidance of future knee arthritis.